About Us

Who are we?
THSSBC is an independent group of homegrown home educated student-athletes who compete on Jesus-loving, Texas-friendly, and Texas-tough basketball teams.

How did this tournament begin?
Many moons ago in 1990 some Texas homeschool pioneers, namely Houston HCYA and San Antonio FEAST, decided to partner up to create an event in Houston for a handful of homeschool basketball teams that wanted to compete against each other. The tournament gained traction when it moved to San Antonio in 1991 and began drawing teams from all over the state, including West Texas and North Texas. In 2008, Dallas HSAA talked to FEAST and HCYA. The two gave their blessing and HSAA received permission to bring the tournament to North Dallas. In 2008, there were 65 teams that competed. Since then, growth has been phenomenal! The number of teams almost tripled with 189 teams competing during the 2015 tournament. In 2017, after 10 years of hosting the tournament, HSAA handed the reins over to San Antonio FEAST and the Austin Royals, who jointly managed the tournament for the next three years.
This year the Austin Royals consider it an honor and privilege to continue this great 30 year tradition of Texas teams honoring our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ at center court in reading Scripture and meeting in Christian unity in our Prayer Circle before each game. Then, with respect and honor we all play it out on the courts, all to God’s glory!
Soli Deo Gloria

Who serves to keep the THSSBC going?
THSSBC Governing Committee

Scott Lane, San Antonio FEAST Patriots (Chairman)

Chris Ohlemacher, Abilene Hawks
Debbie Snow, Austin Royals
Brent Dobbins, Fort Worth-THESA Riders
John Buren, Cleburne-Heritage Falcons
Mike Decker, Houston HCYA Warriors
Trea Buffrey , Lubbock Titans
Randall Casey, Round Rock Raiders
Darren Banks, San Marcos Panthers